#5for5Challenge: Thank you

5for5

Fittingly for #SandsAwarenessMonth I have  reached my goal of over 5000 views for the blog and have raised £45 towards my £50 target.

Even better at least 700 of those were for the #endstillbirths series of blogs (although there are still a disturbingly high number of views for bloody Paw Patrol…).

Even more fitting was the blog that tipped the balance was #endstillbirths: The missing pieces in part thanks to the overwhelming response from #MatExp.

I started my blogging challenge back in February inspired by the personal appeal of John and Aoifes’ #5for5Challenge in memory of their son Seamus.  He, like my sons, should be turning 5 this year.

The challenges as part of the wider fundraising campaign are meant to be personal and themed around five.  As blogging was my way of sharing my sons’ story and raising awareness of the issues around stillbirth prevention and bereavement care it felt appropriate to have my challenge to be about blogging.

I made the commitment to take part in 5 blog link ups a week and read and comment on 5 blogs a day.

5 link ups a week

For anyone not involved in blogging this doesn’t seem a big deal.  Add your blog to a list of others and you’re done!

Anyone who is part of the blogging community knows that this is more work than you think.  If you’re going to do it properly you will be doing a lot of reading, thinking and commenting.  I find it painful to not write something personal in a greeting card and would rather not write anything than put something bland and I’m the same with blog comments.

Without the support of blog hosts and regular readers and people commenting I wouldn’t have been able to reach so many people.  They have shared their own pain with honesty and offered the virtual hugs I’ve needed after revisiting the most harrowing times of my life.

In no particular order I want to thank all the linky hosts (apologies for missing any co-hosts!) for allowing me the space to share my horrible (and sometimes silly) posts .

Blog link up hall of fame

Read and comment on 5 a day

Had I been more disciplined I would have kept track of this but for the most I managed to hit this target.  Blogging can quickly become a rabbit hole when you find the blog that clicks and all you want to do is devour every post, working your way through links to find more.

There are other times when it can feel like a chore but it’s important to focus on the hits not the misses.  Where a blog has caught my attention and made me think I try to capture it in the occasional series of best blogs of the week.

In times where I run out of lines, art or songs to sing about this wicked world breaking my heart it’s these blogs that can inspire me to write my own posts in response or sparking off an idea, phrase or image.

They can remind me why I write in the first place, open my eyes to a new perspective or show me a corner of the world I haven’t seen.  It’s through being an active part of the blog link ups that I’ve got to read and learn about some wonderful people.

Even the bad blogs can be inspiring.  They can also prompt a response or show me something about myself from the way I react to it or learn from what about it that doesn’t work.  Where people are genuinely looking for feedback it offers a chance to help them achieve what it is they want from their blog.

Your blog alone…

If my blog is to help change things and contribute to the cause I need to go wider than the blogging community.  So that’s what I did.  I shared my posts with the #MatExp community, charities, politicians and healthcare professionals around the world.  I didn’t just share my words but collated theirs by building Storify pages of tweets about their events and conferences.

All of this was to reach a wider audience not to make money but to change things so no more families would have to go through what ours did.

Thank you

This blog would be a merciless place of grief, rage and despair without the encouragements and support of other bloggers.

Where there is shade there has to be a source of light.  It’s thanks to bloggers like Pink Pear Bear, Admissions of a Working Mum, Rockin Random Mom and The Mum Project that this blog features comedy rants, bizarre demolition jobs of terrible kids TV and musical diversions to break up the harder edged brutal posts.  They helped give me the confidence to not bury myself in niche and give myself permission to write freely.

For all this and more I’m grateful to every one of you that takes the time to read and leave a comment.

3 Little Buttons
My Random Musings
Best of Worst
ethannevelyn
Post Comment Love
A Mum Track Mind
